Through her first three seasons at Ohio State Taylor Overmier (pictured) has competed at IHSA Nationals every school year. From Liberty Center, Ohio she gave the Buckeyes the early lead in the Western Team Standings at 2017 Nationals with a first in team open reining on May 5th (Overmier's combined Judge's score was a 142.5). Later that day Overmier finished third in individual open western horsemanship. Ohio State has advanced a full western team to IHSA Nationals for 31 consecutive seasons.

The Ohio State hunter seat team had multiple entries at 2017 Nationals. Seen here prior to the start of classes on May 5th is Corinne Conaway, who finished on top of the Region 2 hunter seat open rider standings and competed for the 2017 Cacchione Cup. From Powell, Ohio, Conaway was making her first IHSA Nationals appearance.
Region 2 qualified five hunter seat riders through to Nationals in the individual classes and four of them earned top ten ribbons. From Sharon Center, Ohio, Mallory Myers of Miami University of Ohio (on right) placed fifth in individual intermediate flat at the Kentucky Horse Park on May 4th. This was a minor improvement on her 2016 IHSA Nationals appearance (at which time this photo with Red Hawks Director of Riding Heather Pinnick was taken) during which Myers placed sixth in individual novice over fences.
Five Region 2 western riders made it through Semifinals to reach Nationals on an individual basis. Four were from Ohio State while Lydia Yount (on left) rides for Miami of Ohio. From Columbus, Ohio Yount is seen here with Miami Director of Western Riding Beth Akers after placing ninth in advanced western horsemanship inside AllTech Arena at the Kentucky Horse Park on May 7th.
Otterbein University captured their third Region 2 hunter seat Region Title in five years during the 2016-17 season. However only one Otterbein rider competed at 2017 IHSA Nationals and she is Norah Young (pictured). From Canfield, Ohio, Young earned a combined Judge's score of '77' in individual intermediate over fences on May 4th which was good enough for eighth place. Like Myers of Miami Young has competed at Nationals each of her first three seasons at Otterbein, with her best ribbon so far being a third in team novice over fences at 2015 Nationals in West Springfield, Massachusetts.
While Ohio University did not send any undergraduate riders through to 2017 IHSA Nationals at least one of their volunteers made it onto our Zone 6, Region 2 page. From Rochester, New York, Alexandra Stamatis (pictured) finished her senior year with a third in intermediate flat at Regionals. However Alexandra had a good reason to pay attention to at least one individual class at 2017 Nationals, for her twin sister Kristie Stamatis finished third in individual novice flat for Penn State on May 4th.
If you make the top four at a Semifinal class you advance through to IHSA Nationals. This is what Amber Neuman of Ohio State University did. From Sullivan, Ohio Neuman (on right) placed fourth in individual beginner western horsemanship at the Canyon, Texas Semifinal in March. Then on May 7th Neuman completed her senior year by placing fourth again in the division in Lexington, Kentucky. Buckeyes co-head coach Ollie Griffith is seen here with Neuman and her final IHSA undergraduate ribbon.
Of all ten of the Region 2 english and western individual undergraduate riders at 2017 Nationals no one faired better than Victoria Jenkins (on left). From Springfield, Ohio Jenkins won out over 15 others in the individual walk-trot-canter class in Lexington on May 4th. Miami Director of Riding Heather Pinnick (on right) will have Jenkins around for a while, as she was one of only three freshman to win an individual class - English or Western - at 2017 IHSA Nationals.
Click on map ZONE 1 ZONE 4 ZONE 5 ZONE 7 ZONE 6 ZONE 8 ZONE 2 ZONE 3
Click on the map to get information and results from IHSA shows.


Contact Info


powered by FreeFind

The Zone 6, Region 2 Smorgasbord

 Schools which competed in Zone 6, Region 2 during the 2016-2017 school year: Denison University, Miami University of Ohio, Ohio State University, Ohio University, Ohio Wesleyan University, Otterbein University, University of Dayton and Wilmington College.

Uncle Jimmy's

 Fall 2017 Show Schedule for Zone 6, Region 2

englishSunday, September 24 Ohio State University (Host) at Autumn Rose Farm, Dublin, OH 9:00AM 2 WESTERN ONLY

englishSaturday, September 30 Ohio State University (Host) at Sid Griffith Equestrian Center, Hilliard, OH Time TBA ENGLISH ONLY

englishSunday, October 1 Ohio State University (Host) at Sid Griffith Equestrian Center, Hilliard, OH Time TBA ENGLISH ONLY

englishSaturday, October 21 Miami University of Ohio (Host) on campus at Miami Equestrian Center, also known as John Brown Stables, Oxford, OH 10:00AM ENGLISH ONLY

englishSunday, October 22 Miami University of Ohio (Host) on campus at Miami Equestrian Center, also known as John Brown Stables, Oxford, OH 10:00AM ENGLISH ONLY

englishSunday, November 5 Miami University of Ohio (Host) on campus at Miami Equestrian Center, also known as John Brown Stables, Oxford, OH Time TBA 2 WESTERN ONLY

Show Schedule subject to change.

Inkstables: Custom Logo Socks for your Team
Recent Region 2 Team Champions (Most of this region known as Zone 6, Region 2 since the 2002-03 season)

Hunter Seat:

2003 - Miami University of Ohio
2004 - Miami University of Ohio
2005 - Miami University of Ohio
2006 - Miami University of Ohio
2007 - University of Kentucky
2008 - University of Kentucky (2007-08
IHSA Hunter Seat National Champions)
2009 - University of Kentucky
2010 - University of Kentucky
2011 - Miami University of Ohio
2012 - Miami University of Ohio
2013 - Otterbein University
2014 - Miami University of Ohio
2015 - Otterbein University
2016 - Ohio State University
2017 - Otterbein University


2003 - Midway College
2004 - Midway College
2005 - Morehead State University
2006 - Miami University of Ohio
2007 - Miami University of Ohio
2008 - Midway College
2009 - University of Cincinnati
2010 - Morehead State University
2011 - Ohio State University
2012 - Ohio State University
2013 - Ohio State University
2014 - Ohio State University (2013-14
IHSA Western National Champions)
2015 - Ohio State University
2016 - Ohio State University
2017 - Ohio State University

Red Facebook Icon

 Regional Qualifiers

 Open Level Rider Standings

 Alumni Standings

 Team Standings

Equestrian Talent Search

 Region 1 Homepage

 Region 3 Homepage

 Region 4 Homepage



© 2002 - 2017 Campus Equestrian